James A. Rowley, MD Named AASM Secretary/Treasurer

JAMES ROWLEY AASM Secretary/TreasurerDr. James A. Rowley became secretary/treasurer of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine board of directors during its annual membership meeting, which was live-streamed on June 14. The AASM is the leading professional society in the medical subspecialty of sleep medicine, with a combined membership of 11,000 individual members and accredited sleep centers.

Rowley has served on the AASM board of directors since 2016. In the spring he was elected by the membership to a three-year term as secretary/treasurer.

“I’m honored to serve the AASM in this leadership role,” said Rowley. “I look forward to working with my colleagues on the board of directors to help the AASM advance sleep care and enhance sleep health to improve lives.”

Rowley is a professor of medicine and division chief of pulmonary/critical care and sleep medicine at Wayne State University School of Medicine in Detroit, Michigan. He is also the medical director of the Detroit Receiving Hospital Sleep Disorders Center and program director of the pulmonary/critical care fellowship at Detroit Medical Center, where he is chair of the DMC Pharmacy & Therapeutics Committee.

After receiving his medical degree from the New York University School of Medicine, Rowley completed a residency in internal medicine at the University of Chicago Hospital and a fellowship in pulmonary/critical care medicine at the Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions, where he developed his interest in sleep medicine. He is board certified in critical care medicine, pulmonary disease, and sleep medicine through the American Board of Internal Medicine.

Rowley has been an AASM member since 1996, previously serving as chair of the Education Committee, vice-chair of the Accreditation Committee, and as a member of the Standards of Practice Committee. During his time on the board of directors, he has served as president of the AASM Foundation; liaison to the Accreditation Committee, Payer Policy Review Committee, and the Associated Professional Sleep Societies Program Committee; and as a member of the Guidelines Advisory Panel.

Source: AASM

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.